Topics in this article:
In the Page Manager when you've selected a page from your site navigation tree, in the Draft tab the Actions drop-down menu will have the following features for you to use; Preview, New Draft, and Clone Current. More on each of these is found below.
Click on Preview and the preview window will load in a new tab of your browser, here you can see what that page will look like for your website as you are making edits to it. Be sure to allow popups in your browser for this new tab to open.
Share a Preview Link
In the top left corner of this Preview there is the option to Create A Share Link by clicking on that button a link will pop up that the admin can copy and email to the appropriate users for review.
If the admin wants to password-protect their preview URL, this is done by selecting the expiry duration from the drop-down, followed by typing in a password in the optional password field and then clicking Create A Share Link. Once the URL is shared, the recipient will be prompted to login before viewing the preview page.
Along the top right of the Preview window are the Emulator options. You can emulate how the page will render on a Desktop, Tablet, Tablet - landscape, Smartphone, Smartphone - landscape, by clicking on the corresponding icon.
Within Advantage CSP, editing a live page is prohibited. As a result the CMS contains a feature called New Draft. This feature creates a new page with no content but with the same Layout and Zones as the page you were on for you to then add to and customize.
This feature allows an admin to copy a page’s working draft with all of its modules, associated content and data sources still intact within their zones. This feature can be used where an admin needs to make subtle modifications to an existing page and does not want to recreate it from scratch, or in the event the admin would like to A/B test their content prior to taking it live.
From the Draft tab, the Functions drop-down menu has the Save function that will allow you to save any edits you've made to that Draft and come back to it later and continue your work until you are ready to Publish and make the page live.
When work on a page is complete, click Functions and Publish to make that page live on your website.
Clicking Delete will remove that Draft page and it will no longer be available in the Versions drop-down list.
From the Live tab we see that the Actions drop-down menu has changed and only one option is available, Copy to Draft, and Functions now has Unpublish as the option.
Copy to Draft
This action is used when editing Live content only, where a user brings a copy of the production version of the selected content into the Draft view. The Copy to Draft feature can be found on the right corner within the Live tab of both the Content Manager and Page Manager. Once clicked, the content of the live version of the record is copied to the Draft tab. The window switches to the Draft tab where the admin can choose to further edit the draft content and then Save and Publish the record once the modifications are made.
Available from the Live tab only in the Functions drop-down, the Unpublish button allows you to remove a page that was displaying on your Live site.
Once clicked it will take the content to the Draft tab and no longer be visible on your website and you will see the Changes Pending notification with the bell icon. From the Draft tab you can make necessary edits and then Save and Publish the content again when it's ready to be shown on your website.