Topics in this article:
In the Content Manager when a tool is selected, from the Draft tab the Actions drop-down menu will have the following features for you to use; Preview, Add Draft, Save Draft, Delete Record and Delete Draft. More on each of these is found below.
Click on Preview and the preview window will load in a new tab of your browser with an additional panel located in the top left of the preview window. Be sure to allow popups in your browser for this new tab to open.
Once loaded, you will see every instance in your sitemap where the content, in this case the News Article, has been nested via its module counterpart (see image above). Green denotes active versions of the content and grey denotes draft versions of the content. This will allow the users to walk through their site and see selected content in various states without having to look for every instance where the module has been placed in the Page Manager’s Navigation Manager.
Share a Preview Link
In the top left corner of this Preview there is the option to Create A Share Link by clicking on that button a link will pop up that the admin can copy and email to the appropriate users for review.
If the admin wants to password-protect their preview URL, this is done by selecting the expiry duration from the drop-down, followed by typing in a password in the optional password field and then clicking Create A Share Link. Once the URL is shared, the recipient will be prompted to login before viewing the preview page.
Along the top right of the Preview window are the Emulator options. You can emulate how the page will render on a Desktop, Tablet, Tablet - landscape, Smartphone, Smartphone - landscape, by clicking on the corresponding icon.
Within Advantage CSP you are prohibited from editing a Live page, but the feature Add Draft will create a blank page within the tool you are in and from there you can create new content to work with, save it and publish when ready.
When you begin to create an article in the News Article tool as an example, you may choose to Save Draft in order to come back later and continue working on it and not Publish at this time. When you return to the tool to continue working you will notice in the list that the pencil icon to Edit will be white and not green. A white icon means it has not been published and green means it has been published. After working with the content in the tool you can Save Draft again or go to Publish and check both check boxes and click on Publish It! as you can see below a little further in the article.
By selecting Delete Record you will be removing the tool from the Draft, Live and Historical tabs, and every instance on a web page where it has been used in your website. If I use Delete Record for a News Article, that article will be gone from the list of articles created in the News Article tool. In the Page Manager the Content for a page where the article was will still have the New Article widget present, but because there is no longer an article by that name it will not have anything to display. The page will not be broken, just the article will be removed if viewed in Preview or on your Live site.
When a Draft has been created and Saved but not Published you can use the Delete Draft to remove it. If you have Published a Draft after Saving it the Functions drop-down will not present you with the Delete Draft option and you must then use Delete Record as noted above.
When content in a tool has been created or edited and is ready to be used in your website simply go to the top right and from the Publish drop-down select the check boxes for Share and Publish and then click on the Publish It! button. Here you can see that it's easy to Share and Publish tools across all sites you manage with Advantage CSP.
From the Live tab we see that the Actions drop-down menu has changed and only one option is available and that the Publish drop-down has now become Functions.
Copy to Draft
This action is used when editing Live content only, where a user brings a copy of the production version of the selected content into the Draft view. The Copy to Draft feature can be found on the right corner within the Live tab of both the Content Manager and Page Manager. Once clicked, the content of the live version of the record is copied to the Draft tab. The window switches to the Draft tab where the admin can choose to further edit the draft content and then Save and Publish the record once the modifications are made.
Available from the Live tab only in the Functions drop-down, the Unpublish button allows you to remove content from a tool that was displaying on your Live site.
Once clicked it will take the content to the Draft tab and no longer be visible on pages where that tool was displayed and you will see the Changes Pending notification with the bell icon. From the Draft tab you can make necessary edits and then Save and Publish the content again when it's ready to be shown on pages in your website.